The Norfolk County Archives & Eva Brook Donly Museum

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
    • Contrast
    • Layout
    • Font

EXHIBITS

The Eva Brook Donly Museum offers a variety of permanent and temporary exhibits. Learn more about our current, future and past exhibits.

Thomas Jefferson Mulkins purchased the property, Town lot 2, in 1842 and by 1848 he had built the Georgian style home for himself, his wife and his eight children.
The Mulkins family owned the home until approximately 1921 when Charles Nelles purchased the home. Nelles owned the property for a brief period of time until A.W. Donly and his wife Eva Brook Donly purchased the home in 1924. Eva Brook Donly, a famous local artist, donated the home to the Town of Simcoe in 1941 to become a Museum of Art and Antiquities.
The main floor consists of a Butler’s Pantry, formal Dining Room, and a front and back Parlour. These rooms are interpreted as the Mulkins home from the mid-1800s.
The second floor has the 1800s Master Bedroom and hallway. The other bedrooms have been converted into a studio space to showcase the artwork and life of Eva Brook Donly.

Follow us on social media